#100HappyDays

#100happydays projectIf you’re like me and like to spend your time on Instagram more than Twitter or Facebook (ugh), then you’ve probably noticed the hashtag 100happydays. When I noticed it showing up more and more often I did what I always do when there seems to be something that I am not hip enough to know about: I googled it. This what I found. What a great (and easy) idea, right?

I discovered #100happydays back in April but didn’t decide to do it until now. Why? Because I wanted to really commit to doing it. I know, I kind of take Instagram photo challenges a little seriously but I often start one of these internet things and then let it fizzle out. If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you can probably name a few things. This time I wanted to stay on top of my game.

Two things came together to make this the perfect time for an Instagram project. First, it’s the summer time. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it a million times more: summer time is the best time when you’re a teacher. I’ll be teaching summer school starting on Monday but it’s only the morning and I have every Friday off. There are more times for adventures and good pictures when you’re not stuck inside a classroom. Plus a lot of my 100 happy days would have been pictures of my students because they are what happiness is (sometimes) made of during the school year and that’s a big no-no. So summer time is happy days time. Second, in case you didn’t know, Nick and I just got engaged. The first week was pure bliss: I am going to marry the man I love! Congratulations all around! Then one week later it hit me: I have to plan an event for over 100 people using mostly my own money. I am excited to plan a wedding but it is also overwhelming. I didn’t want to excitement of being engaged getting lost in all the plans for the future. The 100happydays project is the perfect way to capture the first exciting 100 days of being engaged.

There’s something about a good Instagram tag that can really get your creative juices flowing. The best part of this challenge is that I am looking for the parts of my day that really make it happy or special. Whether it’s a cup of tea and lemon cookies before bed or the first time trying on wedding dresses, there are so many small and large happy moments in my life. If you love Instagram as much as I do and are looking for something to spice up your photography, join me with #100happydays.

 

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

