Packed It Up, Put It Away

my classroom when I first set it up, chairs on the desks, nothing had been touched

my classroom when I first set it up, chairs on the desks, nothing had been touched

Do you remember nine short months ago when I was unpacking boxes upon boxes? Do you remember when I was worried about a new school, new curriculum, new students? It’s hard to believe it was only nine months ago when I opened the doors to this new adventure of teaching at a new school. It has been hard, it has been challenging, and it has been incredible.

I’ve been pretty silent on my blog this week because school’s been exhausting. It’s not exhausting because we’re busy but because we’re not. This year passed by in a blur and so many seemingly insurmountable tasks were conquered. We laughed and there were a few tears (we are still eight and nine years old after all) but overall it was good. I put my everything into this year so that I could prove to myself that I was the kind of teacher I wanted to be. I wasn’t perfect of course but I did try my best. That’s what I always tell my students to do and I take my own advice seriously. With the final days here, it feels good to be over but I also miss the hum and buzz of a busy classroom. To see everyone engaged in exploring some new concept, buried in a good book, or crafting a story to share; those are the things I will miss from the school year. Everything’s been packed up, desks cleared, colorful paper covered up and it’s a little sad.

Now we’re just waiting: waiting for pool parties, popsicles, and late nights. So while the end of the school year is always bittersweet I think we are all ready for the end. It’s funny to think back from when I was in school and I had the same exact feeling: happy for summer days but sad about leaving school and friends. I’m sure I will be sad to leave summer days behind come September but for now I’m going to bask in the glow of finishing year one of this brand new adventure.

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

