My Home: The Living Room

The number of times I promised a home tour on this blog is probably ridiculously high and the actual times I delivered on those promises was dismally zero. Well, that’s not entirely true: I shared our tiny closet-like kitchen last summer and our colorful patio when we dandied it up for the Spring. The reason for the hold up has been my own insecurities; Pinterest and lifestyle blogs are a high standard to meet. In addition I have taken a long time to “get it right”, which to me means making it a cozy place where Nick and I feel at home. So I’ve been slowly gathering pieces here and there, a lot of it inspiration in my mind and online, before I fussed with my own space. This Spring was the perfect time for fussing because I’ve finally chosen a color scheme for each room, bought inexpensive but quality accessories, and am not on the job hunt/too crazy stressed to think about pillows and couch covers. Now on to sharing our living room.

buttons and blossoms living room tour

buttons and blossoms living room tour

buttons and blossoms living room tour

buttons and blossoms living room tour

buttons and blossoms living room tour

Nick and I probably spend the most time sitting in our living room, mostly because we have no choice unless we want to hang in our bedroom. When we first moved in I was dead-set on having white couches. I love white; it’s clean, streamlined, modern without being contemporary, and easy to build a cohesive design around. Unfortunately after living with the white couch for over a year, I was tired of it. With our white walls it kind of melted away and it was ridiculously hard to keep clean. So a few months ago Nick and I headed to Ikea to find another, more suitable cover. We settled on the beige and, while I’m almost 100 percent anti-beige, this beige is just perfect for our living room. The other lower couch has a canvas cover and the two couches look great together.

I think the most important element for our living room was adding some accessories to really make it feel like home. I reworked a few pillows with coordinating pillow covers from Ikea and West Elm. Nick is not a throw pillow fan but even he can’t deny how nice and grown-up those people make our couches look, right? I’m not a fan of the overly stylized coffee table. I’ll confess that it gets its fair share of use as a desk and sometimes dining room table. The terrarium from West Elm is the perfect solution. Soon it will be filled with plants rather than one awkward candle once I get my act together and get down to the nursery. Now the gallery wall makes me smile every time I walk in the door and see it. There are so many meaningful prints on there, including the canvas filled with some very important song lyrics, and most celebrate our love for Nick’s hometown.

buttons and blossoms living room tour

buttons and blossoms living room tour

buttons and blossoms living room tour

buttons and blossoms living room tour

buttons and blossoms living room tour

buttons and blossoms living room tour

When we were shopping for a TV stand, we looked at all sorts of options from big to small. On one of the many weekend trips to Ikea, I was suddenly struck by the perfection of the Kallax bookshelf as our new TV stand. Turned on its side this shelving unit is the perfect size for a TV stand and provides excellent extra storage in a one bedroom apartment. I fluctuated on the color for only a moment before settling on the glossy grey. The baskets are also from Ikea and I kept a few cubby holes empty to style them up.

The wicker chair is a holdover from when we got our dining room table. We had a plan for our table which included the cutest matching table and chairs from none other than Ikea (naturally) until it went out of stock two days before our move. We could have waited until it came back in stock but that would have been too logical. Instead we bought a really nice dining room table designed by Better Homes and Gardens at Walmart of all places and then looked for some cheap chairs to put around it. The wicker chairs were okay but I now happily have found cafe chairs and relegated the wicker chairs to other areas in our apartment.

The best feeling is coming home from a long day at work and opening up the door to a home you are proud of. Nick and I love sinking in the couch to watch some of our favorite shows just us two or filling it up with friends and family. Seriously, I’m not sure if we can leave here because it took me about a year and a half to do one room. What will happen when we have an actual house???

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

