New Year, New Recipe: Spicy Shrimp Burritos

shrimp burritos yellow rice black beansMy challenge of trying a new recipe each week is rolling right along. Though I have a confession to make: I have yet to follow a recipe all the way through without altering some part of it. Whether it is the amount of spice, substituting one ingredient for another or adapting the recipe to fit my needs, I am the kind of cook who just has to have it her way.

That’s what happened when it came down to these shrimp burritos. I knew I wanted to cook shrimp, I wanted some sort of Mexican dish, and I wanted my black beans. Oh, and I had a lime. So I took a bunch of recipes I found on Pinterest and this is what I came up with.

Ingredients:

For the shrimp:

About 3-4 shrimp per burrito, uncooked, peeled and deveined

1/4 teaspoon of chili powder

1/2 teaspoon of lime juice

salt and pepper to taste

vegetable oil for the pan

For the beans:

vegetable oil for the pan

8 oz. of black beans, drained and rinsed

1/4 cup diced onions

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1/4 teaspoon cumin

1/2 cup chicken or vegetable broth

(Yellow rice is Goya brand and my very favorite!)

In a lidded pan, put about a tablespoon of vegetable oil and heat over medium heat. Saute onions and garlic and then add the beans, cumin and broth. You should add just enough broth to half cover the beans. Let them cook down for about 15-20 minutes. 

Sprinkle the cleaned shrimp with chili and the lime juice then toss to coat. Sprinkle lightly with salt and pepper. Saute them in vegetable oil heated over medium heat. The shrimp will cook quickly. 

On a whole wheat tortilla, put a few shrimp, a scoop of the beans and some rice. Enjoy!

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

