New Year, New Recipes: Turkey Meatballs

One of my resolutions for this year was to get back to cooking and trying new recipes. I’m a pretty good cook, if I do say so myself, and tend to find myself throwing things together based on old favorites. This was exacerbated by the fact that I started a new job in September and have been so exhausted at the end of the day that I can’t contemplate fooling around with a new recipe. Tried and true took over in my kitchen and while there is nothing wrong with that, I want to challenge myself to become an even better cook. I’ve tried a few recipes, including pulling out the old crockpot for some carnitas tacos, but one thing I thought was worthy of being shared on the blog was turkey meatballs.

healthy eating turkey meatballsI never thought I would allow ground turkey in my kitchen. I am and always will be skeptical of healthy things. It’s a seriously bad habit. I will try most sugary things but put “healthy” in front of something and it gives me pause. But Nick and I are trying to be healthy so I grabbed a package of ground turkey at the grocery store and then hit up Pinterest from some inspiration.

My love of meatballs knows no bounds (please keep that in its culinary context) and I knew that lots of people make turkey meatballs and love them so it seemed like the perfect place to start. I modified and combined two recipes that I can’t seem to find anymore and also used my knowledge from making ground beef meatballs. The best shot of inspiration I had when I was mixing up my meatballs was to add a dash of cumin. Cumin is so delicious and smokey and ended up making these taste full and complex like a fatty beef meatball. So I threw a dash of cumin, finely chopped onions, egg, and breadcrumbs in with the turkey and sent up a prayer that we wouldn’t have to eat turkey sandwiches for dinner when it all failed.

turkey meatballsIt all turned out okay and actually kind of delicious. With a little of my delicious homemade sauce and some spaghetti, eating (somewhat) healthy never tasted so good. Something that I did a little differently was that I baked these meatballs and then let them marinate in the sauce for about ten minutes. That made all the difference in getting a good saucy meatball. Just thinking about this meal is making my mouth water!

While I’m never going to proclaim that I’m eating “clean”, I’m trying to add some healthy elements in here and there. And no, I’m no food blogger, as evidenced by my photos. But I would like to give a dash of culinary advice as I head on this journey of trying new recipes: use what you know. You’re always a better cook than you think you are and it’s all one big experiment anyway. Try things based on what you know and you’ll (probably) be pleasantly surprised by the results. Happy eating!

 

 

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

