I’m Wearing: My Country Chic

gingham shirt jeans booties

checked shirt and bootiessweater and shirt: jcrew (old), jeans: f21, booties: nine west, necklace: anthropologie

This outfit is a compilation of some of my comfiest and most loved items from my closet: the long cardigan, checked button-down shirt, skinny jeans, and an elegant statement necklace. For some reason it also makes me think of a country weekend getaway, which I could use right about now, only without the snow. The only “new” thing about this outfit would be the addition of the ankle booties, a style of shoe that I have welcomed into my closet with open arms. They were a part of my “art teacher” outfit but I like them much better here. I do wish that I had a close-up picture of them though. Part of my better blogging resolutions for the year is going to be to take more detail shots so you get a better sense of my amazing clothes.

A funny story about my clothes and shopping habits: Nick and I were walking around the mall and I spotted a polka dotted sweater. I, the girl obsessed with anything polka-dotted, started ooohing and aaahhhing over yet another sweater. Nick’s only response? Well, of course I knew you would like that. When I asked how he knew, he ticked off on his fingers my three style essentials: comfy, stripes, or polka dots. And to be honest, I can’t deny it. Those three things are sure to get my heart beating faster on any shopping trip.

I don’t intend to do much shopping or much of anything really this weekend. New Jersey just can’t shake this bitter cold so all outdoor activities are off the list. Nick and I might meet his brother and new girlfriend for brunch on Sunday in Philadelphia which will be nice. It’s always interesting being around a couple in new relationship. Sometimes it makes me long for that silly and sweet time of getting to know one another. Then I remember that I can wear sweatpants, watch Downton Abbey, and slid my cold toes under Nick on the couch and am happy right where I am.

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

