My Weekend in Photos: Lobsters, Kermit’s, and the always great Philadelphia

I absolutely could not wait to sit down, check out my photos, and write this post. Seriously, that’s how good my weekend was and I just don’t want this summer to ever end. I filled it with so much delicious food, so many good friends, and hanging out in one of my favorite cities. The weather was pretty decent, though there were some spotty showers on Saturday, but overall it was the perfect summer weather: not too hot, not too cold.

We kicked off this fabulous weekend by having lunch at Luke’s Lobster Roll. I’ve been begging Nick to take me there since I found out this chain was coming to Philly and it did not disappoint. Nick chowed down on shrimp roll and declared that he would eat an old shoe if it was on one of their toasted buttery rolls. I agree. After we headed over to Broad Street near the Kimmel Center where the Philadelphia Horticultural Society set up its seasonal pop-up garden. It was amazing to see the way they transformed an old lot into an urban oasis. I wish I had taken more pictures because they created this amazing seating arrangement/wall with all these colorful cushions and I want something like that some day. They had beer and food and when the sun started to break through the clouds all I wanted to do was hang out there for the rest of the day.

We decided to make a break for it and head to South Philly for some snacks but mostly to explore. South Philadelphia Tap Room was featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives a month or so ago so naturally Nick and I had to see what all the fuss was about. I wanted to save some room for pizza later so we snacked on the best chicken wings ever. Seriously, they were fried deliciousness drizzled with buttermilk dressing and I’m already plotting ways to get back there. We went to a new joint for dinner, a small take-out pizzeria and bakery called Kermit’s Bake Shoppe. Check out the rolling pin sign! And it was named after the owner’s cat so you know it’s going to be good. The pizza was as delicious as promised and I stocked up on quite a few baked goods for Sunday morning.

lobster roll and a soda

lobster roll chalkboard sign

IMG_0647

philadelphia pop up garden beer

colorful garden chairs

colorful umbrellas

laughing portrait

beer in the garden

Philly pink beer

south philly tap room

South Philadelphia Tap Room

pizzeria and bakery in philadelphia

soulful pleasure signrolling pin sign

IMG_1491

pizza

Did you think that was it?! That’s only Saturday. Nick and I went all out this weekend! Sunday was the 2nd Street Festival in the Northern Liberties section of the city. We grabbed a couple of friends and spent all day outdoors, hanging out and eating good food. My favorite was the Mac Mart, a pink macaroni and cheese food truck. Can you say dream job? We also pigged out on fried oreos because we had several “fair foods” first timers. I love getting people to share in my delicious food adventures! street festival philly

food truck

macaroni and cheese

fried oreosIt was one amazing weekend but now I’m off to start that diet…

 

linking up with…

Sami's Shenanigans
One thought on “My Weekend in Photos: Lobsters, Kermit’s, and the always great Philadelphia

  1. Thanks for sharing! I enjoyed reading this post and looking at your pictures. It looks like you guys had such a fun time. Nothing like a good city, delicious food, and great friends is it?! I am dying to go to Philly!

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

