I’m Wearing: the Red, White, and Blue

IMG_0325

IMG_0336

IMG_0338

IMG_0343

IMG_0331shirt: f21, skirt: jcrew (old), belt: american eagle, bracelets: f21, anthropologie, shoes: tommy hilfiger (old)

Here’s my take on the old-fashioned red, white, and blue outfit for the fabulous fourth of July. I like to think of this as “preppy independence.” It perfectly captures my preppiest roots from the button down to the boat shoes. What can I say, I grew up on the east coast in an Ivy League town. Plus preppy works when you’re going for good, old American style. Please excuse the slightly hazy look of some of the photos; I didn’t wipe the lens when I came outside and the humidity fogged it right up. Though I kind of like the dreamy look it gives some of the pictures.

This shirt is a total dream and I was so happy to find it when I was scouring the racks at Forever 21. It’s very light in color and fabric and I love the little bit of interest the lace adds at the shoulder. I must admit I saw a hostess at a restaurant in Philly wearing a similar shirt and I’ve been looking for something like it ever since. Fashion inspiration can come from anywhere! The rest of my outfit is all stuff I’ve had in my closet for forever but they’re good staples nonetheless. My white jean skirt is a classic and I love it because it’s not super short like most jean skirts tend to be. I also love my boat shoes since they are more dainty and girly than regular boat shoes. I really should make more room for them in my daily outfits. And because my wardrobe is limited on red choices, I threw on some red in the form of bracelets. My fingernails were a last minute addition that I just dreamed up but I like having the little subtle patriotism right there at my fingertips. There you have it: red, white, and blue the buttons and blossoms way.

Today I’ll be recovering from yesterday’s festivities. Nick and I aren’t sure whether we’ll be heading down the Shore or staying closer to home and finding some fun around here. Either way it’s going to be a hot one here in Jersey this long weekend. Besides trying to squeeze in among the crowds at the beach, we’re planning to hit up the Brooklyn Flea in Philly again on Sunday. A little bargain hunting is most definitely the best end to a great long weekend.

 

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

