It’s Finally Here

summer

The bulletin boards are down to the cork, the walls are plain white-painted cinder block once more, and the desks are empty and hollow. One little girl squeezed me tight around the middle and said, “I’m never going to let go!” before her bus was called over the loudspeaker. And after the last bus was pulled away from the front of the building, I looked out in the hall with the open lockers and a few papers scattered here and there and thought, it’s finally here. School is out and summer is finally here and I feel relaxed and content. There is something magical about the start of summer. I walked out the doors of the school and the sun was shining and everything was right in the world again. This past winter was long and hard for me and I have been dying to feel the sun on my skin.

I’ve heard many a blogger wax on and on about the fall but for me it will always be the summer. I have so many great memories from this time of year, from shore trips with my family to the sweetest slices of blueberry pie enjoyed on the screened-in porch of my childhood home. I know that this summer will mean the building of even more memories. I love those long summer days with watercolor sunsets and dusk spotted with firefly lights. Oh my goodness, I can’t believe it’s finally here!

A large list of summer plans has already been drafted. I will finally be heading to the county farm fair since I live somewhere where they actually have one. I want to make it to the world championship of sand castle building in Atlantic City next week because these people do amazing things with a pile of sand. I want to host a summer party on my lovely little patio. I’m going to devour some good books. And there will be many, many nights outdoors counting fireflies. 

What it comes down to though is I am going to enjoy this season. I’m going to enjoy the sunshine and the warm weather and my dreamy dress wardrobe. Can you believe it’s finally here?

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

