I’m Wearing: The Classic Preppy Weekender

IMG_6608

IMG_6619shirt: F21, cardigan: joe fresh (via jcpenney), jeans: levi’s, sneakers: lulu guinness (old), sunglasses: F21, necklace: anthropologie

A button-down and a cardigan is my classic look going way back to my prep school days. Now replace those skinny jeans with skinny black pants or my favorite wide leg khakis and you have my work look. A girl can graduate from prep school but you can never take the prep out of the girl. It’s just so comfortable and put together at the same time and since I’d rather be dead than caught wearing sweats or yoga pants out of the house, I find what’s comfortable and stick to it. I also want you to notice my fashion forward-ness: I’ve had these floral sneakers for years and years and years. I never threw them away, even as they sat neglected at the bottom of my closet. This rare instance of being a pack rat means I have the cutest in-style kicks for the spring.

This is my last weekend before I assume my full duties as a third grade teacher. Nick and I decided to celebrate with a bang and we’re headed off to Brooklyn to explore. Despite predictions of rain, it’ll be fun anyway to explore some Brooklyn neighborhoods. Our trip was inspired by my grandma giving me an article about Red Hook’s revival post-Sandy and the need for a little adventure in my life. After some researching and planning on my part, we’ll be spending our morning in Red Hook before seeing what kind of hipster trouble we can get ourselves into in Williamsburg. I love Philly but my first city will always be New York City so I’m excited to be spending my Saturday exploring a new part. And of course, like any good blogger, I’ll be taking lots of pictures so be on the look out for a post about our trip!

 

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

