Springing into Fashion

As part of “Spring Break week” here on the blog, I of course have to talk about Spring fashion. Now let me be honest: if I didn’t like what was considered “on trend” for Spring fashion I wouldn’t be writing this post. I am a big fan of knowing what you like when it comes to dressing yourself and only picking what you like from the fashion mags Top Ten and Must Haves. Fortunately Spring fashion reports sound like they were written by me: stripes and lace and florals and everything girly and good! I scoured the web to bring you some of my favorite Spring clothing inspiration and finds based on what’s going to be in for this blooming new season.

Spring Trend: Florals
First up: florals. I wasn’t sure this was going to be trend I’d want to try. I love flowers and floral motifs but I was hesitant to try it on me. What I realized about this trend, for me, is it has to be subtle. I love my bright and bold but I am still 25 year old teacher living in a small NJ town. I don’t want to stick out too much so it’s better if I stick to a subtler piece much like the above Modcloth dress: it incorporates flowers at the hem but still looks refined and lady-like. I adore those flower pants and those are going to be my WOW piece for when I want to show my style off in a big way, like on a night out in Philly or for a girls night in. Another way that makes this trend perfect is that it can be easily done with your floral accessories. I saw those ballet flats at the Gap last weekend and they are at the top of my wishlist along with sweet floral studs and bracelets. I would also love, love, love an Indie and Chic floral headband; how gorgeous are they!
Spring Trend: Lace
Another trend that is slowly working it’s way into my closet is lace. I have been snatching up lace pieces for quite awhile but a girl can always use more. I adore that clutch and it would be a sweet addition to any Spring outfit. I’m also looking to invest in a pair of lace shorts that will carry me into the warm Summer months. The great thing about lace is that it can be done in both big and small ways. Lace accents on the shoulder of a blouse is just as chic as lace dress like the vintage-inspired girly Shabby Apple one. Another take on this trend is eyelet which is perfect for my friends who think lace is too old school.
Spring Trend: Pastels

What could be more girly and more  Spring-y than pastels? I’m excited about this trend because I like a nice, soft color to compliment the warmer temperatures and bright skies. Having said that, I’m going to be cautious about this trend because it’s so easy to get caught with a wardrobe of pretty pastels. As perfect as this sounds, I feel like too many pastels makes you look like a little girl and I imagine a bedroom decorated with unicorns and rainbows. A perfect and simple touch is nail polish or a sweet accessory like the lilac Cambridge Satchel Company tote. Pastels also enhance a tan so come on, gray skies, I’m ready for the sunshine!

Spring Trend: Stripes

Finally, the trend that I’m most psyched for this Spring: stripes! If you’re a regular reader of this blog or just happen to catch my “I’m Wearing” posts then you’ve seen me in a stripe a time or two (or twenty). So when I started to see magazine articles and fashion bloggers touting stripes, I said, “Yes, please!” Obviously the key to bringing stripes into your Spring wardrobe is to not go overboard. One pieces is often enough, otherwise you might have a Where’s Waldo situation on hand. I adore the orange and white striped dress from Forever 21 (shopping trip here I come) and those bangles or a multi-colored scarf would be an inconspicuous but fun addition. It’s my personal opinion that you can’t go wrong with stripes.

Now you’ve seen what trends I’m loving for Spring. What are you craving for your closet for Spring?

2 thoughts on “Springing into Fashion

  1. I can’t get enough stripes lately and I’m loving that F21 orange striped dress! I really want a pair of floral denim but I haven’t found a pair subtle enough for my liking. Cute finds!

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

