I’m Wearing: Moss Green Sweater

IMG_0223

IMG_0224

IMG_0218Sweater: from Mom, Jeans: Levi’s, Boots: from Mom, Scarf: knit by me, Necklace: vintage from Grandma

I had really hoped to get a good picture of this outfit but, as you can see, that hope went down the drain when we were running out the door. I’m so glad the winter solstice has come and the days are going to start getting longer. I always forget that I want to take an outfit picture until right before we walk out the door or when we get home and it’s already too dark and we have to take them inside. All of this babble is to apologize for these grainy and dark photos taken in a hurry in terrible lighting. I’ll try harder to next time.

As for this outfit, the common theme among all of its parts are that they each have a little story. My sweater and boots are gifts from my mom’s expansive closet. I will forever be happy to have a mom with great style. She’s been trying to borrow those boots (and steal them back) for quite some time but they are such a staple in my winter wardrobe, I can’t let them out of my sight for a moment. I also seriously love this sweater, one of her cast-offs. It’s got a great swing to it and the moss green color is perfectly cozy. Finally I’d like you to notice my sweater: I knit it! I’ve been knitting for about two years now but without a lot to show for it. That’s mainly because I’ve been in school and all my free time was consumed by finishing up my certification program. I also embarked on a mega project for a knitting beginner: a throw blanket. It ended up being a lot bigger than I planned on and I’m a stickler about finishing up major projects before starting another. Therefore this is the first scarf I have knit for myself and I’m in love. It’s a very loose infinity scarf and it acts more like a wooly necklace. I think I’ll make my next one a bit shorter but this one will do just fine.

I am currently on a break since schools are out until the new year. It’s nice not to have to get up in the mornings, relax right after Christmas, and plan for the new year. I’ve started to plan out my goals for the new year; I hate calling them resolutions since that seems so rigid and demanding. I prefer to have my goals and see how the new year goes. With this much-needed break and time on my hands, I plan to see family and friends and get some things posted up here. This is just what I needed.

 

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

