My Favorite Books from 2012

It’s that time of year again: best of time. Last year I made a few lists of things that I thought were the best that year. One of my favorites was my favorite books I read that year so I thought I’d make one for this year. I’m still on the fence about making some of my other “favorite” and “best of” lists; aren’t you tired of reading them all? So in case I don’t make any others, enjoy this list of my five favorite books from 2012.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. From the moment I started reading it, I knew it was one of my favorite books from the year (and if it looks familiar, it’s because I recommended it here first). Anyone who’s asked me for a book recommendation has heard “You must read Gone Girl!” Plus a few extra exclamation points. It’s a thriller, a mystery, full of suspense, and a must-read.

Bloom by Kelle Hampton. This is one of the sweetest and most uplifting books I read this year. Bloom tells the story of one mother’s journey to adapt to her daughter’s Down Syndrome that was undetected during her pregnancy. It’s a beautiful story of love and community and enjoying the small things (which incidentally is Kelle’s very popular blog). It makes you think, cry, and laugh. It’s the whole package and a must-read.

The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. I try not to get caught up in hyped books. I read the Twilight books but hated the needy and depressing lead characters. But something about the Hunger Games series really grabbed me. It’s a very disturbing story line (read: children killing other children in a reality show setting) but you’re drawn in by the characters and the very real emotions they express. I read the whole series in about a week and probably would have finished it faster if I didn’t have to work…or do anything except read. I also recommend reading the books rather than watching and waiting for the movies.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Reading this book was a total wonderful and magical escape from the real world. The book is layered with stories and amazing characters and you will not be disappointed by taking a few hours to read it cover to cover.

The Paris Wife by Paula McLain. This book isn’t really about Paris or living in Paris or even about Ernest Hemingway. It’s about how love can be so wonderful and so devastating at the same time. It’s about how people come into your life for a reason and, though they may destroy, they change your life. It’s more simply the story of the marriage of Hadley Richardson and Ernest Hemingway and the creative world of Paris in the 20s. I loved it and really recommend it.

Did you have any favorite books to recommend to me? I’d love to get some new reads for 2013!

One thought on “My Favorite Books from 2012

  1. Pingback: The Great Geek Manual » Link Round-Up: Best Books of 2012

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

