Great Reads for Your Summer

I must admit that, since summer began, I’ve been stalking every blog I know for bloggers’ recommendations for summer reading. So that may make sound a little creepy but I am always excited for a new book recommendation. I love, love, LOVE to read anything and everything I can get my hands on. And with so many books stacked on my shelf, I’ve decided to give you some of my favorite summer reads from this summer and summers past.

The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels--A Love Story

The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels by Ree Drummond

If you watch the Food Network, then you know Ree, the Pioneer Woman. She lives on a ranch with her handsome husband, a bunch of kids, and a bunch of cattle. She also has a fairly popular blog by the same name and she talks about daily life and recipes there. I can’t say I was too interested in the Pioneer Woman’s brand of cooking but someone recommended this book as a good fast read which made it a perfect book to kick off my summer reading this year. Ree tells the story of meeting her husband and going from a “city girl” to a country ranch wife. I put “city girl” in quotes because she was from Oklahoma and the way she talked about her town, it’s got nothing on NYC or Philly. But to get back to my recommendation, it’s a fast read and perfect for the beach. It’s a realistic love story that’ll keep you hooked while getting a tan.

One for the Money by Janet Evanovich

Looking for a summer thriller that won’t drag you down? Then meet Janet Evanovich’s wildly popular Stephanie Plum series. Okay, it’s an old series but it’s a good one for people who like a little romance and a little crime. I can’t say I’m a diehard Plum fan but I zipped through One for the Money and wanted to read more by the end. It’s no Stephen King or James Patterson but it’s a good light-hearted crime novel to pack for the beach.

The Love Season

The Love Season by Elin Hilderbrand

I picked The Love Season because it’s my favorite Hilderbrand novel but really any of her books are perfect for the summer time. Her stories usually take place on Nantucket Island and her writing transports you to its rocky beaches and pristine hideaways. Her stories are always so emotional for both the characters and you. Everything is so vivid, you won’t want to put the book down.

The Summer We Read Gatsby by Danielle Ganek

I must admit it was the title that first got me on this summer reading list. I love The Great Gatsby so I wanted to hear about this summer of reading the old Fitzgerald novel. This is an incredibly complex read with dynamic characters with the enticing background of the Hamptons. It’s definitely a summer read.

My Name Is Memory

My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares

Looking for a romance that’s not the hyped up kind for bored housewives? It’s no Fifty Shades of Grey crazy but it’s a sweet love story that makes you think about destiny. I love Ann Brashares’s writing (she’s also the author of the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series) and this is an interesting love story not to miss.

These are the summer reading books I’m going to leave you with for right now. I love reading and could fill tons of blog posts with books I love but these ones are just right to toss in the beach bag along with your sun tan lotion and straw hat for a day of reading in the sun. And if you have any recommendations for me, please share! Happy reading!

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

