Twenty Five Things Before Twenty Six

 

 

Today is my birthday! And it’s a big one: twenty five. Yes, I have reached a quarter of a century, not doing too shabby. For my birthday I’m heading into Philly for a street fair that’s being held for Philly Beer Week. I know I post a lot about beer on here but seriously, there’s this whole world of beer that I didn’t know existed until I moved back home! But enough about beer, back to birthdays. I simply cannot believe I am this old already but I am so happy to have some of the best friends and family to celebrate it with. I’m already excited for all the possibilities this new year can bring!

To make sure that my 25th year is as ah-mazing as I know it’s going to be, I decided to do a “25 before 26” list. Lots of bloggers do it and I am going to be the copycat I always wanted to be and make a list of my own. It was so fun thinking up this list and I can’t wait to get started on it…tomorrow!

1. Learn to crochet and make something

2. Visit at least five different museums: I was an art history major in undergrad and dreamed of some day running my own museum. Even though I’m going to be the best darn elementary teacher, I still need to get the museum fix I’ve been neglecting.

3. Donate my time to something meaningful: giving your time and yourself to a meaningful cause is one of my top priorities in life.

4. Host a party: with the amount of event planning and design blogs I read, it seems only right to put all those ideas and pins to use.

5. Create and maintain a side job for extra money: who doesn’t need a little extra cash now and then? This is a precursor to next year’s list when I put “get out of debt” on there.

6. Become better at letting myself relax: this is the only not concrete goal I wrote down but I know some very concrete things I can do to get it done: meditate, sing and be silly in front of my students, and write a list of worries and put it away before bed. I want this goal to last the whole year because it’s one of the most important.

7. Try being a vegetarian for one week: I’ve been meaning to do this for awhile now so this will hold me accountable and make me do it!

8. Thrift at least one outfit per season

9. Finish one piece of writing: a goal on a list from high school says “Get published by the New York Times.” I’d still really like for that to happen but I want to write a complete story of quality first.

10. Buy a digital SLR camera

11. Create a scrapbook: I used to be a big scrapbooker but life got in the way. I’m going to find a special event this year to make a beautiful scrapbook for.

12. Create my own recipe

13. Visit somewhere new (city, country, or major attraction): variety is the spice of life and I L-O-V-E to travel so let’s go!

14. Purchase a piece of artwork: I want to support artists and make my home beautiful. Plus how can an art history major not have artwork in her place?!

15. Make a pie

16. Make three pieces of jewelry

17. Read Stephen King’s On Writing

18. Go all out when celebrating a holiday: it probably won’t be Christmas since I am pretty enthusiastic about it in particular but I’m hoping to celebrate some wacky holiday in a wacky way.

19. Do one month of crazy nail designs

20. Try a beer cocktail

21. Maintain a consistent skincare regiment: I am horrible about taking care of my skin. Thankfully I have some of the most agreeable skin ever and it doesn’t do much more than have a small pimple every three months or so. But since I am getting older, I suppose it’s time to buckle down and give it some love and attention.

22. Write a letter at least once a month (even if it doesn’t get sent right away): I was an avid letter writer through college but forgot about it when I graduated. It’s so wonderful to send a little surprise to people in the mail and it’s nice for me to spend a quiet moment putting pen to paper.

23. Take a photo every day: even if it’s just of my feet, it’s fun to have a special memory of each day.

24. Learn a dance routine

25. Keep a journal of my twenty-fifth year

 

I’m so very excited for this year to get started. I know in my heart that it’s going to be even better than the last and I’m so happy to be here. With that said, it’s time to party!

2 thoughts on “Twenty Five Things Before Twenty Six

  1. Pingback: The Summer Essentials | The Lemonade Stand

  2. Pingback: Goals for a New Year, Let’s Go 2013! | buttons & blossoms

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

