Change is in the Air

I haven’t been writing anything on my blog for a long time. I talked a little while back about crickets taking up residence here while I work my hardest to become a real, live teacher. I’m okay with the crickets because I am making it all happen. The reality is, being a teacher is a whole lot of work. Forget those “mommy hours” and having summer off; if a teacher didn’t have summer off, she or he might just collapse in pile of glitter and ungraded papers. Despite how hard it is, I love it and it makes me happy and full. It’s also very consuming, as in some days it’s all I think about from the moment I get up until I get back in bed again (and sometimes I have trouble shutting it off even when my head hits the pillow). I think about ideas for lessons, books to share, and improvements that need to be made. I think about how I’m doing as a teacher and whether I’m making any progress with my students. It’s a whole lot of thinking and it’s just an internship.

The past few months have been exhausting and exhilarating and, though I’m thankful for this week’s break, it’s just the start. It takes a lot of energy and a lot of time and doesn’t leave a lot of me left for this little blog. At the beginning of the year, you may remember me announcing my blog schedule which I worked industriously to stick to in the first month or so of 2012. But teaching pushed everything to the side and though I didn’t love this little corner of the internet, there just wasn’t time. I didn’t have any advice to give that didn’t have to do with engaging eight year olds in word study or creating fraction pizzas. I didn’t have time to think about writing my usual advice driven posts and it was becoming more like work. 

As the semester’s rolling to a close, I’ve been thinking about what I want to do with this blog. When it comes down to it, I in no way want to turn this into a teaching blog full of my “craftivities.” Instead I’m striving to use the time I will have this summer to make this my creative outlet that allows my brain to rest apart from my crazy teacher all-consuming thoughts. 

You may have seen me posting outfit posts with more frequency than any other kind of post. Though I don’t think I’m going in the direction of a style blog, I am going to make this blog more about me. You will see more posts like this one where I actually tell you more about my life and there will be more things that I think are interesting. I am taking myself away from a schedule and letting my life be as spontaneous as my life has been.

I feel like I’ve reinvented my blog a lot of times in the past (almost) two years. I’ve changed a lot in the last few years so I don’t mind. Plus change is what keeps things interesting. 

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

