It’s still “Possible”

A little over a month ago, I was all jazzed up for the new year. There were all my goals and preparation for a great year. This year has been pretty good so far but I definitely feel a long way away from that “let’s do it!” attitude of the first of January. The real difficulties of this year are really starting to drag on me: living off my savings, the insane amount of work associated with student teaching and the reality of not being able to plan a summer vacation (okay, okay, not exactly a tragedy there but it still makes me sad not to dream of tropical locales). All that determination I had rolling through me is starting to roll right out and that just won’t do. So what’s a girl to do? Remember my one word.

I love the one word I picked to reflect on and cheer me on for 2012: possible. As in anything is possible. And isn’t that just the perfect thing to remember when it all gets too overwhelming? But I didn’t want to just remember it, I wanted to be reminded of it continually. That’s where I remembered my idea to make a business card sized reminder of my one word so I could take it almost anywhere. I used a couple supplies I had lying around and I love the little card I now have sitting on my desk. 

Here’s what you need:

Piece of construction paper cut to business card size

Glitter

Glue

Pencil and Pen

1. On one side of the card, write a meaningful quote in pen. Mine is “Don’t be afraid of the space between your dreams and reality. If you can dream it, you can make it so” from Belva Davis. I love this quote and it puts into words my life philosophy. I just love seeing it in print everywhere! On the other side I wrote my word POSSIBLE in pencil. 

2. Very carefully trace your one word in glue. I used the point of my pencil to scrap excess glue and keep it in the lines for the most part. 

3. Sprinkle a lot of glitter over the letters and then shake off the excess back into the container. Carefully outline the letters with a pen to make your message stand out more. 

And there you have it! A little scrap of inspiration to get you through those tough times. 

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

