Wearing: Afternoon at the Museum

Sweater: Forever 21, T-shirt: Old Navy, Skirt: Gap, Sweater tights: Target, Boots: Sporto from Macy’s, Necklace: vintage, Bag: Forever 21

This week’s outfit post comes to you from the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Can you think of a more inspiring place than a museum? As a former art history major, I love to go suck up all the genius gathered under one roof. I am also incredibly lucky that my Mom bought two membership passes and I can go almost any time I want. My boyfriend and I visited the museum the day after an icy snow so I had a major outfit dilemma: how do I keep my tootsies warm and still look fashionably fresh? My favorite winter boots of course! These Sporto boots were the best investment I ever made. And instead of doing the tried and true skinny jeans tucked into boots, I opted for my new cozy sweater tights. Invest in some sweater tights: the pattern will bring something different to your outfit and they’ll keep you nice and toasty in the cold weather coming our way. The above picture was taken in the rural Pennsylvania gallery and I’m in love with the rustic farmstead furniture.

The “Zoe Strauss: Ten Years” show opened last week so that was the main reason for the visit. Photography exhibits always intrigue me and this one especially since Strauss is a native Philadelphian photographer that picks the most intriguing subjects. Think modern Diane Arbus. The room was so crowded I didn’t get many pictures but I did get quite a few of my favorites from all the different galleries. 

There is something so soothing for me to spend a whole afternoon seeing art across the centuries. That’s what attracted me to the art history major in college and I still love the feelings I get when I contemplate a really intriguing piece of art, modern to ancient. 

I wish I had an up close picture of my necklace because it’s this super cool, 1960s piece I found in an antique store in Bucks County, PA. It’s got wooden, straw and plastic beads on a crazy chain. It’s just so unique with its radical geometry that I had to wear it to the museum. It reminds me of Mondrian (yay color blocking king!) and Picasso. 

One thought on “Wearing: Afternoon at the Museum

  1. Pingback: I’m Wearing: Bundled Up Knits | buttons & blossoms

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

