Good Eats: Kraftwork

This Good Eats post was meant to be written about two months ago when I originally went there but, as with most things that occur right before the holiday season, it got pushed to the wayside to focus on holiday cheer. I am so excited to finally talk about one of my new favorite places, Kraftwork. As with my “Good Eats” posts in the past, this is another restaurant located in Philly, this time in the up-and-coming Fishtown area. Fishtown is quickly becoming the hipster hangout in a city already known for its cool. It’s neighborhood-y with small streets and skinny rowhouses. Kraftwork itself is located on Girard Ave and convenient to 95. 

The thing that makes Kraftwork so cool, besides it’s location, is the fact that there are always 24 craft beers on tap. That’s right, 24 beers on tap. Everything from the darkest stout to the hoppiest IPA. If you know Philly, you know it likes its craft beers and Kraftwork definitely delivers. Presented on a placemat for your perusing pleasure, you can also check out the many inventive tap handles behind the bar. These beers rotate on the regular, keeping you coming back for more. And as if it wasn’t enough that they are one of the best place to grab a fresh brew, they pair their libations with the most delicious food. My boyfriend and I dined on a Saturday so we were given the brunch menu. I am not the biggest fan of brunch but Kraftwork balanced out the typical pancakes and breakfast sandwiches with some pretty stellar lunch items. My choice was a mushroom sandwich. I was served a toasty baguette stuffed full of fresh mushrooms, sauteed spinach and superb roasted red peppers. Yum! My boyfriend agreed his burger was just as delicious. 

Did I mention the handcut fries?! I was in love. Okay, so here I was almost blown over by delicious food and delicious (and plentiful) beers. What could have made it better? Oh yea, the restaurant decor. Like any hip hangout worth its salt, Kraftwork combines their tasty bites with industrial ruggedness: exposed brick walls, steel and metal fixtures and really crazy bathrooms. Yes, bathrooms. I always find it interesting to visit the bathroom in a restaurant because they put little fun details there. Kraftwork put in a rear view mirror as a side mirror into theirs. 

 

 I have already recommended Kraftwork as an awesome place to grab a bite or a brew to many friends already and if you’re in the Philly area, you should go too!

 

Kraftwork

541 Girard Ave., Philadelphia, PA

215-739-1700

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

