Lace and Lights, A Longwood Gardens Christmas

For the last weekend before Christmas, I wanted to do something very Christmas-y and I wanted to do something new. What I decided upon was Longwood Gardens’ Annual Christmas Tree Display. My boyfriend and I visited the gardens over the summer and they were absolutely spectacular. I couldn’t wait to see them in all their Christmas glory.

The grounds are decked out with lights and the conservatory is completely transformed with evergreens, poinsettias, lights and a gingerbread ornaments everywhere. I don’t envy the huge amount of work the gardeners had to do but am in awe of everything they did. The gingerbread ornaments and gingerbread trees were all baked locally by one bakery; can you believe she baked over 7500 ornaments?!

When I got dressed that morning, I was worried about what to wear. Since we were going to spend a bulk of our time in the conservatory, I didn’t want to wear anything too heavy. We were also going to be walking the grounds and the forecast called for chilly. I finally settled on one of my new clothing obsessions: lace. Under my winter coat, my new lace top was just enough layered over a plain tank top to keep me warm and then keep me cool in the green house.

Top: Urban Outfitters, Tank top: Forever 21, Jeans: Levi’s, Boots: Zigi

The worst part about the whole trip was that my camera died halfway through it! Fortunately my Blackberry takes pretty good pictures so that saved things. When I say “pretty good pictures” I mean they are not totally blurry but they’re not the best. You don’t get to see the beautiful details and structure of this lace top. I found it on sale at Urban Outfitters for only $30. Love the coral color and love the boxy peasant blouse style, it’s pretty perfect for all seasons.

Scarf: Madewell, Bag: Liz Claiborne

I wish we could have been there at night to see everything all light up but it was sold out for the rest of the day. I loved walking around the grounds and have plenty inspiration for my own decorations next year.

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

