My Favorite Books of 2010

Is there anything in the world better than a day spent snuggled under the covers reading your favorite book? Or a day spent out stretched out on the sand with a book in hand? Or really any day where you can sit around and read? In my world, that day is my favorite kind of day. I am a BIG reader (just ask my boyfriend about our fall vacation…) and I devour each and every book that comes my way. Every year I find awesome, interesting and inspiring books to satisfy my appetite. 2010 was a year of great reading, both new books and classics. Here’s my top 10 best reads in 2010.

1. The Girls From Ames by Jeffrey Zaslow: great book about female friendship. Definitely makes you want to hug your girlfriends

2. Summer at Tiffany by Marjorie Hart: the real story of a college girl’s amazing summer in New York city working as a page at Tiffany’s. You’re going to want to run away to the big city.

3. The World According to Garp by John Irving: finally read this classic and recommend it to anyone who loves wacky characters.

4. Still Alice by Lisa Genova: a touching fictionalized account of a woman living with early onset Alzheimer’s disease. Though a fiction novel, the account seems so real and so touching. Please read this, even if you know nothing about Alzheimer’s; it can change your life.

5. What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell: Any book written by Mr. Gladwell is a can’t-put-down must read and this book is no different. If you haven’t read any of his books, get yourself to a library or bookstore immediately.

6. My Life in France by Julia Child: one of my role models and simply an amazing woman. I’ve wanted to buy a ticket and fly to Paris since I finished this book.

7. Lunch in Paris by Elizabeth Bard: a book with recipes set in Paris? Simply a no brainer for this wannabe French cook. It’s also a love story; I fell in love too!

8. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien: an amazing account of the devastation of the Vietnam War on the young soldiers who lived through it. It will haunt you but it’s something this generation rarely shares and it’s such an important part of our history.

9. Whom Not to Marry by Father Pat Connor: I do have to put a disclaimer that Father Pat was my school chaplain for nine years and I absolutely think he’s the greatest. But his first published book offers amazing book for anyone looking to find a lasting and honest relationship.

10. Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes by Martha Stewart: so maybe it isn’t fair to include a cookbook in my list but I just love cupcakes and Martha Stewart can’t be beat.

 

Read anything good over the past year?

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Books of 2010

  1. So flattered to be part of your 2010 best list! Our family just made a big move to Provence, to live in the wartime home of famous French poet and Resistance leader Rene Char. I hope you’ll follow along on elizabethbard.com – Wishing you and yours a very happy New Year!

    • Hope you’re planning another book about life in Provence with lots of local recipes, I love it there! But I’ll be following along online until then. Happy New Year!

I'd love to know what you think so leave a comment right below. Thanks for stopping by!

